Heroes

On twitter, There was a survey from The Guardian Global Development Professionals Network in which they have asked about peoples heroes in the LGBT community.

I have asked that one person in particular be nominated.

***

Hi There. 

A short while ago you asked out to twitter about who are our LGBT heroes. I have many but would like to state about one. 

When I came out around 2 years ago I had joined Facebook and looked for assistance on basically what to do. I had been one of those people who had been hiding my own Trans-ness for years and had come to a point where I just couldn’t be lying to other people. 

I went in to many groups which dealt with Transgender issues and what it means to be trans. 

It was the 16th of Feb when I posted in one of my groups that I had only just reopened my Facebook with my real name and real profile. I was determined to be myself. I had only been in the group for a short time when I received a message from Hannah. Was just something short like she would like to make a friend from across the pond and inviting me for tea. Something that if I ever get to that side of the world I may take her up on. 

Just those few initial words and someone reaching out started me realising about that there are other people that were the same as me. People who were realising that who they were perceived as was not the real person who they were inside. 

I spoke to Hannah on and off during the course of a few weeks she said I might want to take a look at this http://www.refinery29.com/video-hannah-simpson-trans-medical-student . I was in awe. Someone who had the guts and the determination to actually be the person to go ahead with things, not to be someone in the closet. 

Since then I have been able to speak to her through social media and seeing her journey. While its not always sunshine and rainbows I think that like with everyone else in the community that she helps others and others help her. She has also been on MSNBC which while its not local in Australia is shared multiple times in the communities and groups I am in. 

http://www.msnbc.com/melissa-harris-perry/watch/sharing-real-stories-of-gender-identity-415106627947

I see someone who is hurt herself but that does a great deal in the community for looking at the rights of LGBT people and also of the people in religious communities that are also LGBT. 

Someone who is friendly and that has made a difference to so many people. 

Leave a comment